Leadership & Staff

The affairs of the Association are governed by a Board of Directors, which is elected annually by the RRHBA General Membership.

2018 Board of Directors

President Immediate Past President
John HopkinsSean Horne
Ferguson Bath Kitchen & Lighting GalleryBalzer & Associates
Vice President Secretary
Brett BennettTina Rush
Roanoke Gas CompanyF & S Building Innovations
Treasurer Vice President Associate
Fred CorbettKaren Hankins
South River Contracting of Roanoke, Inc.Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group

Builder Directors

  • Josh Beisley, Building Specialists
  • Peter Fields, Fields Construction, Inc.
  • Suzi Fortenberry, Bench Mark Builders
  • Jay Gauldin, TBS Construction, LLC
  • Brian McCahill, R. Fralin Companies
  • Pete McKnight, McKnight & Company
  • Joe Thomas, Graham Thomas Home Builders

Associate Directors

  • Frank Caldwell IV, Jack St. Clair, Inc.
  • Ron Dodd, Boxley
  • Mike Shorten, First Citizens Bank
  • Earle Shumate, Hughes Associates Architects & Engineers
  • Barry Wright, The Roanoke Times

State HBAV Directors

  • Brett Bennett, Roanoke Gas Co.
  • Bo Bohon, Bohon Construction
  • Jimmy Butler, First Citizens Bank
  • John Hopkins, Ferguson Bath, Kitchen & Lighting Gallery
  • Andy Kelderhouse, Fralin & Waldrin, Inc.

HBAV Executive Board (Term Expires 06/30/18)

  • Shawn Callahan, HBAV President
  • Robert Frogal, First Vice President/Treasurer
  • Merle Heckman, HBAV Region I Vice President

NAHB Directors

  • Shawn Callahan, Metwood Building Solutions
  • Merle Heckman, David James Homes
  • Frank Radford, David Frank Homes

Legal Counsel

  • David Helscher, OPN Law


Special Thanks to Our 2018 Investors